

Leading scientists to help shaping research policy development at Science Europe

(Brussels, 11 July 2012) Science Europe, the newly established association of both performing and funding research organisations across Europe, is pleased to announce the nomination of six eminent European professors as chairs of its scientific committees.

Professor Dirk Inzé, Director of the Department of Plant Systems Biology at Ghent University, is now the Chair of the Life Science, Environmental and Geo-sciences Committee; Thomas Risse, Professor of International Politics at the Freie Universität in Berlin, is the Chair of the Social Sciences Committee; Kirsten Drotner, Professor of Media Studies at the Department of Cultural Sciences at the University of Southern Denmark, is the Chair of the Humanities Committee; Bengt Nordén, Professor of Physical Chemistry at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, is Chair of Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences Committee (which also covers materials sciences) Committee; Professor Richard Frackowiak, Head of the Department of Clinical Neurosciences at the University of Lausanne, is Chair of the Medical Sciences Committee; and Igor Emri, Professor of Mechanics and President of the Institute for Sustainable Innovative Technologies at the University of Ljubljana, is Chair of the Engineering and Technological Sciences Committee.

"We are very excited to have such outstanding and experienced scientists on board", says Dr Bonnie Wolff-Boenisch, Head of Research Affairs at Science Europe. "The Chairs will be crucial in shaping and inspiring the work of the committees that are just in the process of being established".

The Chairs were selected by an independent committee of scientists and each have a mandate of three years. They will be leading the Committees in their work to provide input and support for the development of Science Europe's policies, oversee foresight activities concerning the future developments of disciplines and the interaction between different disciplines, and provide advice on how to promote scientific excellence across Europe.

Each committee will be composed of up to fifteen experts from diverse fields of expertise within the Committees' research areas; they will meet at least twice a year to provide independent scientific advice as well as vision and impetus to science policy and research developments. The Committees will be assisted in their ambitious tasks by Science Europe's research affairs team.

Science Europe is a Brussels-based association of fifty European national research organisations. It was founded in Berlin in October 2011 with the aim of promoting the collective interests of members and providing them with a platform to collaborate at both policy and activity level.

For more information please contact Elena Torta: Elena.torta@scienceeurope.org, Tel. +32 (0)475 84 01 12